Skip to content

More than a headline rate: the fees payment providers charge on top

Every fee a payment provider or merchant of record can charge beyond its headline rate, in the order our calculator counts them, with published examples.

Last reviewed 18 min read41 sources

In short

  • Our calculator counts eleven cost lines. The first is the headline percentage plus the fixed fee per order. The other ten are payment-method fees, cross-border surcharges, currency conversion, payout fees, chargebacks, refunds, fraud tools, tax compliance, monthly fees and your own team’s time.
  • Fixed fees dominate small orders. At published rates a $0.99 purchase costs 33% of its price on Stripe US and about 55% at 5% + 50¢.
  • On Aghanim’s published schedule, the only complete one from a game-focused merchant of record, a 5% + 50¢ headline comes to 8.7% of revenue for a studio with $20 orders, before a 5% rolling reserve.
  • Every provider that states a policy keeps at least part of its chargeback fee when you win the dispute. Stripe and PayPal keep their processing fee when you refund a player.
  • Get every line in writing, including the ones the provider says it does not charge, before you compare two quotes.

A provider’s headline rate tells you what it charges on a clean domestic card sale that is never refunded or disputed and is paid out in the currency it was bought in. Few of your orders look like that. This page walks through every other line on the bill, in the order the calculator counts them, with a published example of each. The numbers for every provider sit side by side in published provider fees, checked on 19 September 2026.

Why the headline rate is the wrong number to compare

Most game-focused merchants of record do not publish a complete price list. Xsolla, Appcharge, Neon and FastSpring publish no standard merchant of record rate. Stash’s last public figure is a June 2024 blog example. Coda publishes three headline tiers and no add-ons. Aghanim is the exception. Its Developer Terms contain the whole fee schedule, which is why it appears in several examples below.

Where a rate is published, “5%” is stacked in different ways:

  • Xsolla’s payment service provider product is “5% + payment system fee per successful transaction”.
  • Stash’s 2024 example took “a 5% fee on your net revenue”, after channel fees of 2.9% + $0.30, a 1.5% foreign transaction fee, currency conversion and taxes had already come off.
  • Stripe Managed Payments is “3.5% per successful Managed Payments transaction in addition to Payments fees”, so 6.4% + 30¢ on a US card.

Neon, a merchant of record that sells on all-in pricing, writes on its blog that a 5% quote typically ends up at “8–20% or higher”. That is a vendor’s claim about its competitors. The worked example further down tests it against one published schedule.

The fixed fee per order, and why it dominates small purchases

Most providers charge a percentage plus a fixed amount on every order. On a $20 order, 50¢ is 2.5 points. On a $0.99 order it is half the price. The table shows what published rates cost at common game price points, before tax, disputes, refunds and payout conversion.

Published rate $0.99 $4.99 $9.99 $19.99 $49.99 $99.99
Stripe US, domestic card (2.9% + 30¢) 33.2% 8.9% 5.9% 4.4% 3.5% 3.2%
Stripe US, international card + conversion (5.4% + 30¢) 35.7% 11.4% 8.4% 6.9% 6.0% 5.7%
Stripe Managed Payments, US card (6.4% + 30¢) 36.7% 12.4% 9.4% 7.9% 7.0% 6.7%
Stripe Managed Payments, international card + conversion (8.9% + 30¢) 39.2% 14.9% 11.9% 10.4% 9.5% 9.2%
Paddle list price (5% + 50¢) 55.5% 15.0% 10.0% 7.5% 6.0% 5.5%
Lemon Squeezy, buyer outside the US (6.5% + 50¢) 57.0% 16.5% 11.5% 9.0% 7.5% 7.0%
Aghanim, US card (5% + $0.50) 55.5% 15.0% 10.0% 7.5% 6.0% 5.5%
Aghanim, non-US card + conversion (7.5% + $0.50) 58.0% 17.5% 12.5% 10.0% 8.5% 8.0%
PayPal Checkout US, domestic (3.49% + 49¢) 53.0% 13.3% 8.4% 5.9% 4.5% 4.0%
PayPal Checkout US, international (4.99% + 49¢) 54.5% 14.8% 9.9% 7.4% 6.0% 5.5%
Braintree US, foreign card in non-USD (4.89% + 29¢) 34.2% 10.7% 7.8% 6.3% 5.5% 5.2%

Our calculation from each provider’s published rate, 19 September 2026. Paddle says that for products under $10 you should “contact us for custom pricing”, so its list price may not be what you would pay at $0.99 or $4.99. PayPal publishes a separate micropayments rate of 4.99% plus a 9¢ fixed fee.

Part of the fixed cost is the card network’s, and no provider can remove it. Visa’s US schedule effective 18 April 2026 sets regulated debit interchange at 0.05% + $0.21, about 21% of a $0.99 sale before any provider adds its margin. If your catalog leans on $0.99 and $1.99 items, ask each provider for its small-ticket pricing in writing, and look at whether your web shop should sell bigger bundles than your in-game store.

Payment-method fees on top of the headline

Some providers include every payment method in the headline rate. Others add a fee per method, and a few do not say.

Provider Payment methods in the headline rate? What it publishes
Aghanim Yes, “subject to variations” in annexes The fee covers cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay, bank transfers “and via other payment methods”
Coda Yes “Are there additional costs for accessing Coda’s 400+ payment methods? No.” Coda does not say whether its 5% Webstore rate stacks on Codapay’s rate of “from 1%”
Lemon Squeezy No “+1.5% for PayPal transactions”
Paddle Yes “no additional cost for … providing additional payment methods”
Stash (2024 example) No Channel fee “2.9% + $0.30” deducted before its 5%
Stripe (payment service provider) No, priced per method US: Klarna 5.99% + 30¢, iDEAL $0.80, Pix 2%, BLIK 1.9% + 30¢
Xsolla (payment service provider product) No “5% + payment system fee”; the method fees are not published

Method fees matter most where players pay with something other than a card. A web shop that adds Pix for Brazil or iDEAL for the Netherlands to win conversion also adds that method’s price to your cost line. The payment methods guide covers which methods players use in each market.

Cross-border card surcharges

A provider prices cards issued in its home region at one rate and foreign cards at a higher one. Which of your players count as foreign depends on the provider, not on you. For a US provider, your German players are cross-border.

  • Stripe US adds “+ 1.5% for international cards”.
  • Stripe UK charges 1.5% + 20p for standard UK cards, 2.5% + 20p for cards from the European Economic Area and 3.15% + 20p for other international cards.
  • Aghanim adds 1.5% on “international cards (except the cards issued in the US)”.
  • Lemon Squeezy adds “+1.5% for international (outside of the US) transactions”.
  • Braintree adds 1% for a card issued outside the US; PayPal adds 1.50% on international commercial transactions.
  • Paddle and FastSpring say international processing is included.

The surcharge follows the network’s pricing. EU law caps consumer interchange at 0.2% for debit and 0.3% for credit on cards issued and used in the European Economic Area. For cards from outside the area used online at an EEA merchant, Visa and Mastercard committed to caps of 1.15% for debit and 1.50% for credit, several times higher.

Currency conversion, often charged twice

Conversion can happen at two points. At checkout, a player in Poland pays in złoty and the provider converts to your balance currency. At payout, the provider converts that balance into the currency of your bank account. Some providers charge at one point, some at both, and the published charges run from 1% to 4%.

Provider Conversion charge When
Aghanim 1% “if currency conversion is required, for all payment methods” At checkout
Appcharge “no conversion cost for USD; for other currencies, the exchange cost is fixed at 1%” At checkout
Braintree Additional 1% for non-USD presentment At checkout
FastSpring 2.5% if store currency differs from payout currency At payout
Lemon Squeezy Included in the platform fee; 1% per payout to a non-US bank via Stripe At payout
Paddle “a conversion margin of up to 1.5%” At payout
PayPal Spread of 3.00%, or 4.00% for some transaction types At conversion
Stripe UK + 2% if conversion is required At checkout
Stripe US + 1% if conversion is required At checkout
Stripe Adaptive Pricing 2–4%, paid by the player inside the local price At checkout

Two details change the real cost. The first is the rate the markup is added to. Appcharge says it “generally applies the mid-market rate”; a provider that adds its percentage to a worse rate charges more than the headline number shows. The second is reversals. Appcharge converts refunds and disputes back “at the current exchange rate”, so a currency move between sale and chargeback lands on you. Stripe’s Adaptive Pricing moves the conversion cost onto the player; your fee line looks cleaner, and the player sees a higher local price.

Payouts: fees, minimums, holds and reserves

The payout line has four parts: what the transfer costs, how much must build up before it is sent, how long the money waits, and how much is held back as a reserve.

Provider Schedule Minimum payout Holds and reserves Payout fees
Aghanim Monthly, “within 30 calendar days of the end of such Payment Period” USD 1,000 5% of monthly receipts for six months, “thereafter … 5% … on a monthly rolling basis” Paid in USD
FastSpring Monthly on the 15th, or twice monthly $100 “45-day monitoring hold” on new accounts; “14-day settlement delay to all transactions” 2.5% if currencies differ
Lemon Squeezy 14th and 28th of the month $50 Net sales “held for 13 days” 1% to a non-US bank via Stripe; PayPal 50¢ (US) or 3% capped at $30 (outside the US)
Paddle Monthly, sent “by the 15th” $100, adjustable up to $100,000 Not published “a $15 SWIFT fee may be applicable” in some countries; conversion up to 1.5%
Stash Monthly Not published Not published Not published
Stripe (payment service provider) T+2 in the US, T+3 in the UK and EU; first payout typically 7–14 days Not published At Stripe’s discretion Standard payouts free; Instant Payouts 1.5% (minimum 50¢)
Xsolla Per contract; “We don’t pay out early” Per contract Not published Not published; changing payout currency needs “a contract amendment”

Waiting has a cost the fee schedule does not show. Take a studio selling $1 million a year through a provider that pays monthly, up to 30 days after month end. A sale waits between 30 and 60 days, about 45 on average, so around $123,000 is in transit at any time ($1,000,000 × 45 ÷ 365). A 5% reserve built over six months adds up to $25,000 more; ask when each month’s reserve is released. At a 10% cost of capital, which is our assumption and should be replaced with yours, carrying $148,000 costs about $14,800 a year, or 1.5% of revenue. On Stripe’s T+2 settlement the money in transit is about $5,500. The calculator counts payout fees; add the cost of waiting from your own treasury numbers.

Money waiting for payout is money the provider owes you, so you carry its credit risk. Digital River, a merchant of record that at its peak “processed over $30 billion in online transactions”, said on 2 January 2025 it was “unable to tap into advanced funding of our revolving credit facility” and began winding down. Its Irish arm went into provisional liquidation and insolvency proceedings began for its German subsidiaries. Former clients reported delayed or missed payouts; those reports come from merchants and secondary sources, not court findings. Weekly payouts and small reserves reduce what you stand to lose if a provider fails.

Chargebacks: the fee, the lost sale, and whether either comes back

A chargeback costs you three things: the provider’s fee, the value of the sale if you lose, and any fee for fighting it. Every provider below that states a policy keeps at least part of its fee even when you win.

Provider Fee per chargeback Returned if you win?
Adyen “charged for every booked chargeback”; amount not published. Arbitration “up to USD 600” No
Aghanim $15 “for processing chargeback debits for all payment methods” Not stated
Braintree $15 Not stated
FastSpring “Applicable network fees”; amount not published Not stated
Lemon Squeezy “$15 dispute fee” Not stated
Paddle 20 USD/GBP/EUR, or 40 CAD/AUD; also charged on pre-chargeback alerts No: “will not be refunded”
PayPal (US) $20 card chargeback; $15 dispute fee, $30 for high-volume sellers Not stated
Stripe US $15 dispute received fee, plus $15 dispute countered fee if you respond Countered fee yes; received fee no
Stripe UK / EU £20 + £20 / €20 + €20 Countered fee yes; received fee no
Xsolla “10-20 US dollars”, once per transaction No: charged “regardless of the result”

On a lost dispute through a payment service provider, the sale value is gone as well; you are the merchant. A merchant of record can pass it back too: Aghanim’s terms, for example, deduct chargebacks from the developer’s share. Most others do not publish who carries the lost sale, so ask. Stripe’s Smart Disputes service charges 30% of the disputed amount on each dispute it wins, and its prevention tools cost $15 per Visa resolution or Compelling Evidence 3.0 block and $29 per Mastercard resolution. Card network penalties for a high dispute rate come on top; chargebacks and fraud in game payments covers Visa’s and Mastercard’s thresholds and fines.

Refunds: the fees you don’t get back

When you refund a player, most providers return the sale amount to the player and keep their own fee.

The payment processing, Connect and currency conversion fees from the original transaction are not returned.

Stripe pricing (US)

there are no fees to make the refund, but the fees you originally paid to receive the payment are not returned to you.

PayPal business fees (US)

Other published treatments:

  • FastSpring’s legacy Classic docs describe the opposite. The FastSpring fee is credited back, and “The refund fee is 3.5% of the order total.” Those docs predate its current platform, so confirm which rule is in your contract.
  • Aghanim charges $0.50 per refund on non-card methods and bank transfers.
  • Lemon Squeezy deducts “the refunded amount (minus our platform fee)”, which reads as you being debited only the net you received.
  • Stripe Managed Payments may keep the original sales tax on refunds “in certain jurisdictions”. Stripe “can issue refunds within 60 days of the original transaction in certain cases”, and if you don’t answer a support escalation within 48 hours it “might issue a refund without your approval.”

At a 1% refund rate, a studio with $1 million of sales in $20 orders refunds 500 orders a year. At 5% + 50¢ with fees kept, that costs $750 in fees on top of the refunded sales.

Fraud tools: included, metered or sold separately

Fraud screening is included in most merchant of record rates. With a payment service provider it is often a separate meter.

  • Stripe includes Radar Lite on standard pricing. Radar’s fuller tiers cost “Starting at $0.05 per screened transaction”, or plans from $10 a month. 3D Secure is included on standard pricing and costs $0.03 per attempt on custom pricing.
  • Braintree’s Fraud Protection Lite is $0.05 per inquiry. Its Chargeback Protection starts at 0.4%.
  • PayPal sells Chargeback Protection at 0.40% per transaction and Effortless Chargeback Protection at 0.60%.
  • Stash says “fraud prevention, support and compliance are included”. Stripe Managed Payments includes fraud prevention.

A per-order fee scales with order count, not revenue. At $0.05 a screen, fraud tooling is 0.25% of a $20 order and 2.5% of a $1.99 one.

Tax engines, registrations and filing

Under a merchant of record, sales tax and VAT are the provider’s job at no extra cost. It is the seller, so it registers, collects and files. Under a payment service provider you are the seller, and you pay for three things: a tax engine to calculate the right rate, registrations in each country and state where you owe tax, and the returns.

  • Stripe Tax Basic costs “0.5% per transaction, where you’re registered to collect taxes” on the no-code setup, or $0.50 per transaction through the API.
  • Stripe Tax Complete, which adds registrations and filings, starts at $90 a month on a one-year contract (£70 in the UK), and “Additional fees may apply for registrations and filings outside of the US”.
  • TaxJar lists Starter at $39 a month and Professional at $99 a month, both for up to 200 orders a month.

The EU’s €10,000 threshold applies only to sellers established in one EU country, so a studio based outside the EU owes VAT in each player’s country from the first sale. The non-Union One Stop Shop lets it file one quarterly return for all of them. The tax guide sets out which countries and states require registration.

Stripe Managed Payments takes its fee from the tax-inclusive amount; Stripe says the 3.5% “is calculated based on the full transaction amount, including any indirect taxes”. On an item priced at €10 with 20% VAT, the player pays €12 and the fee is €0.42, which is 4.2% of your €10 price. At Hungary’s 27% VAT it is 4.4%.

Monthly fees, minimums and commitments

Paddle advertises “No migration fees, monthly fees, or hidden extras”. Stripe Managed Payments has “no setup fees or monthly minimums”, and FastSpring says it has “no minimum transaction volume”. The commitments that remain sit in add-ons and enterprise terms. Adyen has no monthly or setup fees but has “a minimum invoice depending on industry or business model”. Stripe Tax Complete is a one-year contract, and Radar’s plans are monthly. Coda offers custom pricing to companies processing at least $100,000 a month.

Contract terms that move money

Most providers keep their standard contract private. Aghanim’s published terms show what to look for.

we reserve the right to Distribute the Content at such price as we deem necessary in our sole discretion, however, we will consult with you in good faith

Aghanim Developer Terms

The same terms run for 12 months and then renew each year, let either side terminate for convenience on 30 days’ written notice, cap Aghanim’s liability at “one month of Aghanim’s fee”, and treat statement discrepancies of “10% or less” as “customary in trade”. Terms elsewhere that change what you pay:

  • Repricing. PayPal “may increase the percentage components of your Transaction Fees after giving you 30 days prior notice”. Braintree says fees “may vary based on business size and risk profile”.
  • Dispute limits. Paddle sets an acceptable chargeback rate “Below 0.65% of transaction volume”. Stripe Managed Payments requires “a low historical dispute rate and no prior risk issues”.
  • What you may sell. Paddle says it serves “software companies (including B2B SaaS, Consumer Software, and Games)”, but its prohibited list includes “Virtual currency or stored value, including but not limited to store credit, gift cards, vouchers”. A studio selling gems or coins through Paddle should get written confirmation first.
  • Price-setting. Who sets the price also affects whether you book revenue gross or net; see merchant of record accounting.

Worked example: what “5% + 50¢” costs a studio with $20 orders

This uses Aghanim’s schedule because every line is published. A provider that publishes less could cost more or less; you can’t tell until you have its numbers. The business is the calculator’s default: $1 million a year, $20 average order, 25% of sales on non-US cards, 25% needing conversion, 1% of orders refunded, 0.35% disputed, 40% of disputes won.

Line Basis Annual cost Share of revenue
Headline percentage 5% of $1,000,000 $50,000 5.0%
Fixed fee $0.50 × 50,000 orders $25,000 2.5%
Non-US card surcharge 1.5% on 25% of sales $3,750 0.4%
Currency conversion 1% on 25% of sales $2,500 0.3%
Chargeback fees $15 × 175 disputes $2,625 0.3%
Lost chargebacks 105 lost × $20 $2,100 0.2%
Fees kept on refunds 500 refunds × $1.50 $750 0.1%
Total $86,725 8.7%

The 5% headline becomes 8.7%, and the fixed fee alone is two-thirds of the gap. Outside the table, the 5% reserve and monthly payout hold back up to about $148,000 of your cash at any time. Change the order size and the answer moves: at a $5 average order, the fixed fee alone is 10% of revenue.

Ask for this in writing

Send this list to every provider on your shortlist and ask for an answer on each line, including “not charged”. A blank means you have to assume the worst case.

Line Ask for
Headline fee The percentage and fixed fee, whether either changes with volume, and the pricing for orders under $10
Payment methods Which methods are inside the headline fee, and the extra fee for each one that is not
Cross-border Which card countries count as international, and the surcharge
Conversion at checkout The markup, and the rate it is added to (mid-market or the provider’s own)
Conversion at payout The markup, and which currencies you can hold and be paid in without conversion
Payouts Frequency, days from sale to your bank, minimum, transfer fees by country
Holds and reserves Every hold on new accounts, every reserve percentage, and the date each is released
Chargebacks The fee, whether it is returned if you win, who pays the lost sale, and who fights the dispute
Refunds Whether the percentage, fixed and conversion fees come back, and any separate refund fee
Fraud What screening is included, what is metered, and who carries fraud losses
Tax Which countries and states the provider registers and files in, and whether its fee is charged on tax
Minimums Monthly fees, minimum invoices, annual commitments
Repricing How much notice before any fee rises, and on what grounds
Contract Term, renewal, notice to terminate on each side, liability cap, who sets the price
Product fit Written confirmation that in-game currency and items are allowed products

Put the answers into the calculator side by side, and check them against the published figures in provider fees. For the questions to ask beyond price, see choosing a D2C payments provider.

Questions studios ask

What fees do payment providers charge beyond the headline rate?

A fixed fee per order, payment-method fees, surcharges on foreign cards, currency conversion at checkout and at payout, payout fees and minimums, chargeback fees, fees kept on refunds, fraud screening, tax calculation and filing, and monthly minimums. A merchant of record includes some of these in its rate; which ones varies by provider.

Why does a $0.99 purchase cost so much to process?

Because most providers charge a fixed amount per order on top of a percentage. Stripe’s US rate of 2.9% + 30¢ takes 33.2% of a $0.99 sale, and 5% + 50¢ takes 55.5%. Even the card network’s own fee for US regulated debit is 0.05% + $0.21, about 21% of $0.99.

Do I get the chargeback fee back if I win the dispute?

Usually not. Paddle says its fee “will not be refunded” and Xsolla charges its fee whatever the outcome. Stripe returns its $15 dispute countered fee when you win but keeps the $15 dispute received fee.

Are processing fees returned when I refund a player?

Not at Stripe or PayPal. Stripe says the processing and currency conversion fees from the original transaction “are not returned”, and PayPal says the fees you paid “are not returned to you.”

Does Stripe Managed Payments charge its 3.5% on sales tax?

Yes. Stripe says the fee is calculated on the full transaction amount, including any indirect taxes. On an item priced at €10 plus 20% VAT, the 3.5% is taken from €12, which is 4.2% of your €10 price.

Sources

  1. VAT rules and rates · Your Europe (European Commission) · last checked 13 Jul 2026
  2. One Stop Shop · European Commission
  3. Council Directive 2006/112/EC on the common system of VAT (consolidated 14 Apr 2025) · EUR-Lex
  4. Stripe pricing (US) · Stripe · checked 19 Sep 2026
  5. Stripe pricing (UK) · Stripe · checked 19 Sep 2026
  6. June 2025 pricing updates for disputes · Stripe
  7. Managed Payments pricing · Stripe · checked 19 Sep 2026
  8. How Managed Payments works · Stripe
  9. Radar pricing · Stripe
  10. Stripe Tax pricing · Stripe
  11. Payouts · Stripe
  12. Adaptive Pricing · Stripe
  13. Aghanim Developer Terms · Aghanim · checked 19 Sep 2026
  14. Paddle pricing · Paddle · checked 19 Sep 2026
  15. Understanding chargebacks with Paddle · Paddle
  16. When and how do I get paid? · Paddle
  17. Can I be paid in my local currency? · Paddle
  18. What am I not allowed to sell on Paddle? · Paddle · updated 13 Apr 2026
  19. Receive payouts · FastSpring
  20. Order refund policy, chargebacks and return processing (Classic docs) · FastSpring
  21. Fees · Lemon Squeezy
  22. Getting paid · Lemon Squeezy
  23. Refunds and chargebacks · Lemon Squeezy
  24. Chargeback fee · Xsolla
  25. Payment service provider · Xsolla
  26. Costs and payouts FAQ · Xsolla
  27. Understanding and lowering game payment processing fees · Stash · Jun 2024
  28. View financial reports · Appcharge
  29. Currency conversions · Appcharge
  30. Coda pricing · Coda
  31. Is your DTC merchant of record costing more than you think? · Neon (vendor blog)
  32. Adyen pricing · Adyen
  33. Manage disputes · Adyen
  34. PayPal business fees (US) · PayPal · checked 19 Sep 2026
  35. PayPal Braintree fees (US) · PayPal
  36. TaxJar pricing · TaxJar
  37. Visa USA interchange reimbursement fees, effective 18 April 2026 (PDF) · Visa
  38. Regulation (EU) 2015/751 on interchange fees for card-based payment transactions · EUR-Lex
  39. Antitrust: Commission accepts commitments by Mastercard and Visa to cut inter-regional interchange fees · European Commission · 29 Apr 2019
  40. US paytech Digital River reportedly shutting down · Fintech Futures · 11 Feb 2025
  41. Digital River cuts staff, will shut down headquarters · Digital Commerce 360 · 29 Jan 2025

Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it and log the change.